Wagyu Beef

Wagyu Beef

Just as regular beef follows a standard USDA grading system (Choice, Prime, Select), Wagyu and Kobe beef have their own grading standard, which measures the meat’s intramuscular fat; this is also known as “marbling.”

Showing 1–16 of 59 results

Wagyu Beef Grading and Marble Scores

Marbling is that webbing of creamy white fat that riddles a cut of beef and gives it a spectacular tenderness, juiciness, and richness. This score is called BMS or Beef Marble Score. All of our Wagyu has a Marble Scale of 3-5. We can also special order Wagyu up to a Marble Scale of 9.

The Japanese Marble Score Scale

In the Japanese system, the BMS scale goes from 3 to 12, with 3 being the basic minimum of marbling a steak should have and 12 being a steak that is almost white with marbling. Because BMS scores of 1 and 2 show virtually no marbling, they’re not even considered.

More marbling means a tenderer, creamier texture, and is what Wagyu and Kobe beef connoisseurs highly prize. The higher the BMS score, the more expensive the beef is.The Japanese Marble Score

The Australian Wagyu Marbling Scale

Australia is one of the world’s biggest producers of Wagyu beef and uses its own grading scale, the AUS-MEAT marbling system. This scale goes from 0 (no marbling) to 9+ (extraordinary amounts of marbling), the latter being the highest grade. The grading scores are identical to the Japanese BMS scale, meaning an Australian Wagyu BMS 5 is the same as a Japanese Wagyu Marble score of 5. However, the Australian scale tops out at grade 9 and everything above it – scores 10, 11, and 12 – is graded 9+.

Australian Marble Score

USDA Grading and American-Style Wagyu

In America, the USDA divides higher-quality meats into three categories: Select, Choice, and Prime (the top tier). Compared to the Wagyu and/or Kobe marbling scale, the best Prime steak would roughly equal a BMS 3-4.

Our beef is USDA Upper 2/3 Choice Midwestern corn and grain fed. We offer USDA Prime by way of special orders. Contact us here for more information about USDA Prime offerings.

Due to an outbreak of foot-and-mouth disease around the mid-2000s, all Japanese beef importation was suspended, giving way to a new wave of domestic production of Wagyu beef.

Although there are some American producers of full-blood Wagyu breeds, most American Wagyu beef comes from a cross between Japanese Wagyu breeds and other classic breeds like Angus. Domestic or American Wagyu follows the Japanese BMS scale for grading meat.

US Score

Marble Score Descriptions

Riddled with a good amount of creamy white fat marbling, MS 3 and MS 4 Wagyu beef delivers mouthwatering flavor.

Marble Score 3 and 4

Wagyu marbling produces an even softer texture than you’ll ever experience from supermarket steaks, all thanks to the privileged flavor profile of Wagyu cattle genetics. At a reasonable price, this is the perfect starter Wagy or for those who like to indulge often!

Marble Score 5 and 6

Richer and denser premium steak cuts, with Wagyu Marble Scores of 5 and 6, you’ll see significantly more of that gorgeous webbing of fat, and you’ll notice a creamier mouth-feel in each bite. Buttery without being overwhelmingly opulent, you still indulge in significant portions without risking a richness overload.

Marble Score 7 and 8

With Wagyu Marble Score 7 and 8, you’re entering the rarefied realm of the billionaires of beef. There’s a new level of richness to these steaks, with softness approaching stick-of-butter levels. Succulent and juicy, that striking web of creamy intramuscular fat – the marbling – which characterizes Wagyu beef spreads more and more throughout the meat, giving it a melt-in-your-mouth texture that you’ll never forget. We deliver Wagyu fresh straight to your door! For special orders, please get in touch with us here.